A Beginner's Guide To The 7 Chakras

Chakra (cakra in Sanskrit) means “wheel” and refers to energy points in your body. They are thought to be spinning disks of energy that should stay “open” and aligned, as they correspond to bundles of nerves, major organs, and areas of our energetic body that affect our emotional and physical well-being. There are seven main chakras that run along your spine. These are the chakras that most of us are referring to when we talk about them. Each of the seven main chakras has a corresponding number, name, color, specific area of the spine from the sacrum to the crown of the head, and health focus.

THE CROWN CHAKRA  (Sahasrara) 

Crown Chakra Healing

"I Understand"

The crown chakra is located at the very top of the head. It's colors are white and violet and the meanings are intelligence and awareness. The crown chakra is linked to every other chakra and every organ, so it affects not just these organs, but also our brain and nervous system. It is considered the chakra of enlightenment and represents our connection to our life’s purpose, spirituality and enlightenment. Those with a blocked crown chakra may seem narrow-minded, skeptical, or stubborn. When this chakra is open, it is thought to help keep all the other chakras open and to bring the person fulfillment, knowledge and enlightenment. Daily mediation, yoga or prayer helps open this chakra, especially when you use selenite, as it is one of the purest crown chakra crystals. 


Third Eye Chakra Healing

" I See"

Selenite is one of the purest crown chakra gems you can find.

This chakra is located between the eyes on the forehead and the color is indigo or purple. The meanings are insight and imagination, meditation and trust. The third eye chakra is said to help you connect your natural psychic abilities to the world around you. Since this chakra is physically located on the head, blockages can manifest as headaches, issues with sight or concentration, and hearing problems. People who have trouble listening to reality or who are not in touch with their intuition may also have a block. When open and in alignment, it’s thought that people will follow their intuition and be able to see the big picture. Amethyst is the sublime stone of spirituality and it will do whatever it can to get you ready for that great awakening.  It's properties can directly impact our ability to tap into our third eye and to access our own sense of self. Amethyst awakens psychic abilities and helps you achieve your highest inner self. 


Throat Chakra Healing

 " I Talk"

Located in at the base of the throat to the eyes,  the color of this chakra is blue and the meaning is communication. This chakra is connected to our ability to communicate verbally. Voice and throat problems as well as any problems with everything surrounding that area, such as the teeth, gums, and mouth, can indicate a blockage. Blocks can also be seen through dominating conversations, gossiping, speaking without thinking, and having trouble speaking your mind. When in alignment, you will speak and listen with compassion and feel confident without being overly emotional. Aquamarine soothes fears around the throat, loosening the grip of anxiety, and keeping you connected to your one true voice.

The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Heart Chakra Healing

" I love"

The heart chakra  located in the center of your chest symbolizes love, compassion, acceptance and sincerity and the color is green. Blocks in our heart chakra can manifest in our physical health through heart problems, asthma, and weight issues. These block's can even affect our emotions and actions. People with heart chakra blocks often put others first, even if it's harmful to them.  It’s the middle of the seven chakras, so it bridges the gap between our upper and lower chakras, and it also represents our ability to love and connect to others. When out of alignment, it can make us feel lonely, insecure, isolated, angry and distrustful of others. Rose Quart is a perfect crystal for the heart chakra, it carries the energies of compassion, nourishment, tenderness, peace, and pure, unconditional love.

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Solar Plexus Chakra Healing

"I Can"

Located near the upper abdomen above the navel the meanings are associated with self-esteem and confidence and the color is yellow. Think of your solar plexus chakra as both your energy center and your control center. Blockages in the third chakra are often experienced through digestive issues like ulcers, heartburn, eating disorders, and indigestion. It’s the chakra of our personal power. This means it’s related to our self-esteem and self-confidence. You likely have a well balanced solar plexus if you find it easy to figure out where you want to be in life and are actively taking steps to achieve your goals.  On the other hand, if you are easily influenced by others you may need some work in that area.  Citrine is a great crystal for restoring balance to your solar plexus and pyrite is a good stabilizing crystal. 

The Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana) 

Sacral Chakra Healing

"I Feel"

Located just below the belly button and above the pubic bone the color associated with the sacral is orange and the meanings are sensuality, pleasure, sociability and sexualty. This chakra is essentially responsible for sexual desires and emotions that bring about excessive pleasure and creative endeavors. Issues with this chakra can be seen via problems with the associated organs, like urinary tract infections, lower back pain, and impotency. Emotionally, this chakra is connected to our feelings of self-worth, pleasure, sexuality, and creativity. To help keep your sacral chakra balanced try wearing sunstone or tiger’s eye.

The Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Root Chakra Healing

" I Am"

Last but not least, you have the root chakra. This energy center is located close to your tailbone and can easily be considered the foundation upon which everything else should be built. as it you with the emotional basics that you need to survive.  It's meanings are stability, energy, comfort and safety. it's color is red. Red Jasper is a nurturing stone and knows how to clear your root chakra, it  is all warm fire and fierce energy. It is also called the stone of endurance and known for raising motivation levels and helping you overcome obstacles and challenges.

There are many ways to use chakra stones daily. 

  • Wear the stones as jewelry over the chakra locations
  • Meditate with chakra healing stones
  • Keep a stone in your pocket or on your person
  • Add them to your bath water (Not safe for all stones)
  • Sleep with the stone under your pillow or next to your bed
  •  All of the chakras in your body must work in with one another in order for you to live a well balanced life.  

    Chakra Healing and Balancing Chakra Beginner Crystal Kit

    Shop our Chakra Healing & Balancing beginner kit!

    Leave a comment

    Please note, comments must be approved before they are published